• Alyvia Maynard

Marvel Mania

Updated: Apr 12, 2021


What a time to be alive, Marvel fans! After a long year with no content for the first time in quite a while, Marvel is making up for lost time. This year, Marvel has released two series on Disney Plus: WandaVision and The Falcon and the Winter Soldier. Both of these series are a part of the Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU) Phase Four. WandaVision premiered on January 15, 2021, and takes place right after the events in Avengers: Endgame (2019) and centers around characters Wanda Maximoff / Scarlet Witch and Vision. I loved the vibe of this series, as it was very sitcom-esque (for good reason). It also allowed us to get a closer look at Wanda and Vision’s relationship that was never explored in the films. WandaVision ran for nine episodes and will tie into Doctor Strange 2.

The Falcon and the Winter Soldier premiered on March 19, 2021, and will run for six episodes. This series focuses on Sam Wilson / Falcon and Bucky Barnes / Winter Soldier. The events of this series take place after WandaVision and six months after Avengers: Endgame. Personally, I love being able to see more Bucky content. I don’t think this character got enough screen time in the films. Not only is he wildly popular among fans, but he is also a relatable character to so many people. Seeing Bucky in this series has given me a new appreciation for his character and has encouraged me to embark on a journey to re-watch the MCU films for only the second time. I find myself catching references that I did not notice the first time around that directly relate to The Falcon and the Winter Soldier. New episodes are set to stream every Friday on Disney Plus.

There will be more additions to MCU this year. Phase four will continue with:

  • Loki (TV show – June 11, 2021)

  • Black Widow (July 9, 2021)

  • Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings (September 3, 2021)

  • The Eternals (November 5, 2021)

  • Ms. Marvel (TV show – late 2021)

  • Spider-Man: No Way Home (December 17, 2021)

For anyone else who is eager to re-watch the films like me, there are two ways to do so: Chronological Order or Release Order:

Chronological Order:

  • Captain America: The First Avenger (takes place during WWII)

  • Captain Marvel (takes place in 1995)

  • Iron Man (takes place in 2010)

  • Iron Man 2 (takes place after Iron Man)

  • The Incredible Hulk (time unspecified, pre-Avengers)

  • Thor (takes place six months before Avengers)

  • The Avengers (takes place in 2012)

  • Iron Man 3 (takes place six months after The Avengers)

  • Thor: Dark World (post-Avengers, pre-Ultron)

  • Captain America: Winter Soldier (post-Avengers, pre-Ultron)

  • Guardians of the Galaxy (sometime in 2014)

  • Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 (after Guardians)

  • Avengers: Age of Ultron (takes place in 2015)

  • Ant-Man (takes place in 2015)

  • Captain America: Civil War (post-Ultron, pre-Infinity War)

  • Spider-Man: Homecoming (post-Civil War, pre-Infinity War)

  • Doctor Strange (takes place in 2016)

  • Black Panther (takes place in 2017)

  • Thor: Ragnarok (post-Ultron, pre-Infinity War)

  • Avengers: Infinity War (takes place in 2017)

  • Ant-Man and The Wasp

  • Avengers: Endgame (starts in 2017, finishes in 2022)

  • Spider-Man: Far From Home (eight months post-Endgame)

Release Order:

Phase One

  • Iron Man (2008)

  • The Incredible Hulk (2008)

  • Iron Man 2 (2010)

  • Thor (2011)

  • Captain America: The First Avenger (2011)

  • Marvel’s The Avengers (2012)

Phase Two

  • Iron Man 3 (2013)

  • Thor: The Dark World (2013)

  • Captain America: The Winter Soldier (2014)

  • Guardians of the Galaxy (2014)

  • Avengers: Age of Ultron (2015)

  • Ant-Man (2015)

Phase Three

  • Captain America: Civil War (2016)

  • Doctor Strange (2016)

  • Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 (2017)

  • Spider-Man: Homecoming (2017)

  • Thor: Ragnarok (2017)

  • Black Panther (2018)

  • Avengers: Infinity War (2018)

  • Ant-Man and the Wasp (2018)

  • Captain Marvel (2019)

  • Avengers: Endgame (2019)

  • Spider-Man: Far From Home (2019)